What It Takes to Be a DXer

A lot of presumption here, since I am new to the hobby, hihi.

But here’s some things I’ve learned chasing DX (distance contacts). DXers:

1. Have an interest in making contacts with hams outside one’s own country either casually or for awards. Some DXers don’t confirm contacts (QLSs) nor participate in awards, or they got them years ago and now just make serendipitous contacts and live for the moment, hihi. Some of these guys make for very interesting contacts and many live in exotic places. DX chasers can use any legit mode: SSB, Contesting, CW, and Digital. Or a DXer may simply be a “ragchewer” making distance contacts.

2. Make contacts and don’t mind rejection. Radio contacts are a funny thing, and it’s easy to take things too seriously or personally. Bare in mind, you may be one of many, many hams trying to make contact at the same time. Only one gets chosen at a time by the operator on the other end. Successful DXers keep trying and strategize, looking for strengthening band conditions in their area, or happen onto the DX entity they are chasing at an opportune time, maybe being the first to come back to station’s call, or being on at a time when there is a “pipeline” or strong signal into your location. Some DXers chase the weak signal stations when the bands are “quiet.”

3. Have the necessary equipment. An HF rig. It doesn’t have to be an expensive rig, but you should be able to work on different bands with a tuned antenna. What bands? 20m is considered to be “the DXers band.” But 40m and 17m work well for making DX contacts also. There are seasonal times of the year where 10 and 6m have many DX opportunities. There are fewer opportunities on the other bands, but they exist. One hundred watts and a wire will give you many DX opportunities. If you are restricted on your antenna, there are many other options. Consult your local hams or Elmer.