How to start learning CW Thread

Considering the post requesting a CW category, I thought I would throw out some things for those interested in learning CW. I have been slowly learning CW for a couple years. I have almost 40 CW contacts logged so my actual experience level is low as I am still learning.

How to get started learning?

There are a lot of resources on the Internet. So many that it’s overwhelming at times. I am not going to bother listing a ton of them, I am going to list a select few that I am am or have used and are highly recommended.

1. The first one and probably the best is the CW Ops Academy. Detailed info is here: https://cwops.org/ under the Academy section. They have four levels of classes starting with a beginner which expects zero CW experience. Your class will meet twice a week over Zoom and you will have to do homework during the week. I HIGHLY recommend this!!!

2. K7QO Code course - This is a collection of over 500 mp3 files that start from zero and finished with The War of the Worlds in Morse Code. Yea a book! I have all the files on my phone and listen in the car. I am listening to file 77 out of over 500! I have a ways to go with this course.

3. lcwo.net - This is a great resource. Lot’s of random cw exercises and lessons. I mainly use the exercises and not the lessons here.

4. Once you learn the letters and numbers, most people recommend listening to actual slower QSO’s. Contest QSO’s are easier as the exchange is predefined and repetitive so it’s easier. A lot of my 40-ish contacts are QSO party type contacts.